National Leadership Conference Daily Updates

HOSA News Member Services HOSA Advisor Information State Affiliates National Leadership Conference Join HOSA Home Page

National Leadership Conference
Anaheim, California
June 26-29, 2002

Wednesday, June 26, 2002

Daily Update
Opening Session Speaker - Samuel A. Kojoglanian, MD, MS - "Dr. Rap"

The OPENING SESSION was a big hit! A special thanks to Amanda Getz, Christy Frank, Tracey Mayo, Sarah Hammond and Devon Miles from the Pruden Center, VA, for their presentation of "God Bless the USA."

A Welcome to California was delivered by Stephani Van Wert and Brenna Vallestero, CAL-HOSA State Officers.

State Associations recognized for an increase in membership in 2001-02 were:

  California Georgia
  Illinois New Hampshire
  Kentucky New York
  Maryland North Carolina
  Florida Idaho
  Michigan Oklahoma
  Mississippi Pennsylvania
  Missouri Tennessee

Membership gains:

  • California HOSA - 46%
  • Georgia HOSA - 155%

8-year increase awards:

  • Tennessee - 53%
  • Indiana - 53%
  • Wisconsin - 72%

Largest state association:

  • Texas - 11, 586 members

Largest state delegation:

  • North Carolina - 363

Largest chapters:

  • Secondary - West Mecklenburg, NC - 255 members
  • Postsecondary - Manatee Technical Institute, FL - 277

Honorary Life Membership - Cheryl Keever, NC

Catherine B. Junge Memorial Scholarship:

  • Michael Duplantis - Samual Clemmons, TX
  • William Samuel Bailey - Science Hill, TN
  • Christie Hathron - AP Fatheree Voc., MS

Nearly 300 HOSA members took the Kaiser Permanente Healthcare Issues Exam.

The following students achieved a mastery level on the test:

  Karen Adams, MS Patricia Smith, NJ
  Cassandra Grant, NJ Rachel Zach, CA
  Stephanie Galchutt, CA Sherry West, MS
  Luz Marina Balderas, CA Wynnie Brouelette, CA
  Margaret Shrock, MS Nicole Capriles, TX
  Jeri Campa, CA Jacob Thomas, FL
  Charles Dieterle, FL Michale Alosso, FL
  Adrian Eckert, CA Josh Hefner, NC
  Samantha Klinges, IL Kimberly McDonald, KY
  Maggie Alexander, SC Carolyn Kinline, NY
  Gayle Rambeu, NC Morgan Gillette, NC
  Heather Rudolph, NY Kelly Hackharth, NC
  Due-Hiephan Bui, TX Kate Shepherd, NJ
  Jessica Daver, NC Sarah Smith, TX
  Catherine Pearson, SC Cynthia Akatugba, TX
  Twyla McGee, MS

Kaiser Permanente Healthcare Issues Exam Scholarship Winners

  • 1st Luz Marina Balderas, CA
  • 2nd Margaret Schrock, MS
  • 3rd Adrian Eckert, CA


  • 1st Kimberly McDonald, KY
  • 2nd Heather Rudolph, NY
  • 3rd Sarah Smith, TX

Copyright © HOSA
All rights reserved.
Contact HOSA

Site Development and Hosting by: Y4H Designs and JJCC
HOSA News and Information HOSA Members HOSA Advisors National Organization State Affiliates National Leadership Conference HOSA Home Page